Pastor Rick Mora

Mora in the Word

Acts 3:19 “Therefore repent and return, so that your sins may be wiped away,

america pray for

Repentance is Our Friend

Repentance is our friend that leads us to God, and such a friend we should always be eagerly embraced.

Do you embrace Repentance in once life?

A friend is someone who always seeks to help us be our best, who seeks to bring us closer to God by making us more like Christ.

Repentance is such a friend.

Repentance brings us to God in salvation through faith in Jesus Christ, and repentance restores those who wanders astray for a time.

Acts 3:19

“Therefore repent and return, so that your sins may be wiped away, in order that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord”

Everyone wants their sins to be wiped away Right?

Everyone wants times of refreshing from the Lord Right?

This verse is conditional!

Therefore Repent and Return is conditional, we want all the blessings we can get, we want all the goose bumps we can feel but like blessings and goose bumps they will come and go, what I want is the Presence of the Lord in my life and that is presence is strong in my life.

I think of King David when he prayed, Create in Me a Clean Heart, O God.

A Psalm of David, when Nathan the prophet went to him.

1 Have mercy on me, a O God,

according to your steadfast love;

according to your abundant mercy

blot out my transgressions.

2 Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,

and cleanse me from my sin!

3 For I know my transgressions,

and my sin is ever before me.

4 Against you, you only, have I sinned

and done what is evil in your sight,

so that you may be justified in your words

and blameless in your judgment.

5 Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity,

and in sin did my mother conceive me.

 6 Behold, you delight in truth in the inward being,

and you teach me wisdom in the secret heart.

7 Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;

wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

8 Let me hear joy and gladness;

let the bones that you have broken rejoice.

9 Hide your face from my sins,

and blot out all my iniquities.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,

and renew a right spirit within me.

11 Cast me not away from your presence,

and take not your Holy Spirit from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,

and uphold me with a willing spirit.

13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways,

and sinners will return to you.

14 Deliver me from blood guiltiness, O God,

O God of my salvation,

and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness.

15 O Lord, open my lips,

and my mouth will declare your praise.

16 For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it;

you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.

17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;

a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

Acts 3:19

Therefore repent and return, so that your sins may be wiped away, in order that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord.

Luke 15:17-21, 24

But when he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired men have more than enough bread, but I am dying here with hunger! I will get up and go to my father, and will say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in your sight; I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me as one of your hired men.”’ So he got up and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion for him, and ran and embraced him and kissed him. And the son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and in your sight; I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’ But the father said…‘this son of mine was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found.’ And they began to celebrate.

Let Repentance be your Friend that you may once again experience his presence in your life!

 James 5:19-20

My brothers, if anyone among you wanders from the truth and someone brings him back, 20 let him know that whoever brings back a sinner from his wandering will save his soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.

2 Timothy 2:26

(26) That they may recover themselves.

The literal meaning of the Greek word rendered “that they may recover themselves” is. that they may awake from drunkenness.

The English version, however, gives the meaning with great exactness.

Those taken in the snare of the devil are represented as not only captives in the snare of the devil, but as also helplessly wrapped in slumber.

The deadly peril of all “captives of sin” is here well painted.

These unhappy ones, before they can free themselves from the toils of the evil one, must awake from the deep slumber in which they are wrapped:

in other words, must first be conscious of their awful danger.

June 28, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

